Arris Pizza – Republic Rd.

Tonight I was in one of my “I don’t feel like cooking” moods, so my husband and I went out. Actually went-to-a-sit-down-restaurant went out. We typically just get fast food, but, eh, I was feeling like a date night, so there you go. And for the first time in I don’t know how long, our meal was decided upon without the “What do you want? – I don’t care, what do you want?” The hubs wanted pizza. Not good for the diet (neither is the moscato I’m going to have after I finish this post), but whatever. After a brief conversation about lamb, gyros, and reference to a Facebook post made by a friend that said the gyros at Arris Pizza are “pretty tasty”, that’s where we decided to go. I’d heard nothing but rave reviews about it, so it had to be good, right?

(No pic of the building this time, sorry.)

With the exception of the addition of the gyro, the menu featured items one would typically find at an average pizza place: salad, sandwiches, and, of course, pizza. Only the pizzas listed on the menu were all specialty (well, I guess there was kind of a build-your-own option)…named after Greek gods. It was a little overwhelming trying to pick a pizza with so many different selections. We almost went for the Hercules (their version of a meat lover’s pizza), but decided on our usual beef and mushroom. And I’m glad that’s what we did, because I could accurately compare it to other pizzas we’ve had.

When our pizza came out, this is what we saw.

2013-03-07 19.06.11

Gasp! It’s thin crust!

And it was the best thin crust pizza I’ve ever had (compared to Pizza Hut and places that are known for their thin crust, such as McSalty’s and WannaGetta Pizza)! The crust was crispy, not soggy, and tasted like it had a hint of butter and Parmesan (or maybe it was the cheese).  But there wasn’t much sauce. Not that it needed it. The toppings had so much flavor that the crust could have been cardboard and I wouldn’t have cared. I didn’t even need to add Parmesan, that’s how good it was. And somehow….somehow, they ground the beef so fine that there was a layer over the entire pizza. With this pizza, every bite had a bite of beef, instead of having to take two or three bites, as with other pizzas, to get a larger piece of beef. For being a simple beef and mushroom pizza, this pizza was incredible (and telling you about it makes me want to dig into the leftovers in the fridge, even though I’m stuffed full).

2013-03-07 19.06.50

If you haven’t been to Arris yet, definitely go soon! Maybe when we go back, we’ll branch out and try the Hercules…then again, maybe not.

Now for that moscato…

Leave a comment